Exhibitions closing March 28; Museum complex closed March 29 - April 10
Hyde House minus balustrade. Work began in late March.
Sunday, March 28, 2010 marks the last day for visitors to view two exhibitions at The Hyde Collection: An Enduring Legacy: American Impressionist Landscapes from the Thomas Clark Collection and Divided by a Common Language? British and American Works from the Murray Collection. As of Monday, March 29, the Museum complex closes its doors to visitors for just under two weeks as part of planned renovations.
An Enduring Legacy presents sixty-four paintings from the private collection of Saratoga County, New York resident Thomas Clark, with representative examples from the last great generation of landscape painters who emerged both during and in the aftermath of the American Impressionist movement (1880-1920). The works in the Clark Collection offer a comprehensive treatment of these regional schools of Impressionist activity in America.
The exhibition from the Murray Collection includes approximately twenty works of twentieth century Modern art that are part of a larger collection donated to the Museum by the late Jane Murray. The works were selected to help visitors examine the similarities and differences between American and British works of the period, as both are areas of particular strength in the Murray Collection.
The Museum complex closure, which runs from March 29 through April 10 involves the renovations to the Hyde House roof and balustrade, as well as installation of the next Charles R. Wood Gallery show – the Nineteenth Annual Regional Juried High School Art Exhibition, which showcases the best in student work from five area counties. The exhibition runs from April 11 through May 23. Hyde House re-opening is currently slated for May 25, 2010.